News Releases
Office of Governor Gary Locke
Contact:  Governor's Communications Office, 360-902-4136

Locke announces appointments to boards and commissions

OLYMPIA - Gov. Gary Locke today announced appointments to the Washington Council for the Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect, along with appointments to a variety of other boards and commissions.

Council for the Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect
The council consults with state agencies and works with community-based organizations to develop programs and educational materials designed to prevent child abuse and neglect. It is composed of legislators, agency leaders, and seven community members appointed by the governor. Appointments announced today include:

Dr. Kyle E. Yasuda of Seattle, who heads the pediatrics section of Virginia Mason Medical Center and serves as an associate professor of pediatrics at the University of Washington School of Medicine. He is also president of the Washington Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics. His term on the child-abuse prevention council expires in June 2001.

Susan Manfred of Spokane, executive director of the Vanessa Behan Crisis Nursery. She has previously served as chair of the Spokane Council for the Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect, and the Spokane County Developmental Disabilities Advisory Board. Her term on the council expires in June 1999.

Lolo Florentino Arevalo of Seattle, founder and executive director of ADELANTE, a non-profit organization focusing on statewide leadership development in the Latino community. His term on the council expires in June 2001.

DeNard Jones of Yakima, who has served on the council since 1995 and works in the broadcasting industry. His term on the council expires in June 2001.

Fire Protection Policy Board
The board sets policy on fire-protection matters, and advises the chief of the Washington State Patrol and the director of Fire Protection in developing a fire-protection budget. The three appointments to the board announced today include:

I. David Daniels of Kent, a career firefighter and president of the Seattle Fire Department Officers Association who was reappointed to the board. Daniels, a battalion chief for the Seattle Fire Department, is a member of the Seattle Black Fire Fighters Association and a variety of other professional organizations. His new term on the board expires in April 2001.

T. J. Nedrow of Lacey, a volunteer firefighter with Lacey Fire District 3 who works as a transportation specialist with the state Department of Transportation. Nedrow was named firefighter of the year as a volunteer fire captain in Yakima and was a winner of the Governor's 1997 Outstanding Public Service award. His term expires in April 2001.

Randy Acker of Olympia, a resource protection manager for the state Department of Natural Resources who was reappointed to the board after representing the agency as a board member since 1995. His new term expires in April 2001.

Examining Board of Psychology
The nine-member board reviews the licensing of professional psychologists and has the power to revoke or suspend licenses for specified conduct. Appointments announced today include:

Joanne Ito, a staff psychologist at Western State Hospital in Tacoma who is also an instructor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the University of Washington School of Medicine in Seattle. Her term expires in January 2003.

Glen Frese, a doctor of psychology with a clinical practice in Wenatchee who has worked with the Wenatchee Youth Drop-in Center and has served as a counseling psychologist for the Chelan-Douglas Counties Community Mental Health Center. His term expires in January 2003.

Chiropractic Quality Assurance Commission
The commission, which includes 11 practicing chiropractors and three public members, is responsible for regulating the competency of chiropractors by establishing and enforcing licensing qualifications and standards of practice. Appointments include:

Dr. Joseph M. Howells, a chiropractor with a private practice in Enumclaw. A member of the commission since 1994, his reappointment expires in June 2001.

Dr. Noel G. Lloyd of Redmond, chiropractor in clinical practice since 1971 and author of the national back injury prevention program, "Back Smart." His reappointment to the commission expires in June 2001.

Commission on Judicial Conduct
Marianne Connelly of Spokane was named to the Commission on Judicial Conduct, which reviews complaints alleging possible violations of the Code of Judicial Conduct and enforces the state ethics legislation for all members and employees of the state judicial system. Connelly has been active in a variety of community service groups, including a citizens advisory committee for the Spokane Juvenile Court, the Washington Council on Crime and Delinquency, the Citizens for Juvenile Justice and Citizens for Juvenile Accountability and the Court Composition Committee. She currently is a member of the Volunteers of America and the League of Women Voters. Her term on the commission expires in June 2000.

Emergency Medical Services/Trauma Care Steering Committee
David Williams of Bellingham was appointed to the Emergency Medical Services/Trauma Care Steering Committee, reviews regional emergency management plans and pre-hospital emergency and ambulance services throughout the state. Williams is a fire commissioner at Whatcom County Fire Protection District #4. His term on the steering committee expires in August 1998.

» Return to this month's News Releases
» View News Release Archive

Access Washington