News Releases
Office of Governor Gary Locke
Contact:  Governor's Communications Office, 360-902-4136
Alt Contact:  Tom Kelly, Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction, 360-753-1142

Locke, Bergeson name Youth Safety Summit advisors

OLYMPIA - Gov. Gary Locke and State Superintendent of Public Instruction Dr. Terry Bergeson today named the members of the Citizen Advisory Group that will plan a statewide Youth Safety Summit.

The summit, scheduled for Aug. 19 in King County, will involve nationally recognized experts on youth violence and safety, state and local leaders, community representatives and youth.

"These citizens have agreed to serve as our eyes and ears at community forums, and to share their knowledge and experience in planning the summit," Locke said. "I know everyone who cares about our youth appreciates their commitment."

The governor and Bergeson have asked local community health and safety groups and projects to sponsor forums in communities across the state before the summit. Forum participants will identify and share information about existing youth violence prevention programs hear individual concerns, ideas and recommendations. The advisory group will use this information to chart the direction of the summit.

"I can't thank the members of the advisory group enough for giving their time, expertise and support for the effort they about to undertake," Bergeson said. "We need to do everything possible to provide resources and specific action items for communities and schools before the start of school this fall."

The August summit is designed to:

- examine the root causes that lead to youth violence;
- identify existing programs and resources within communities that address causes of youth violence; and
- suggest specific local, statewide and/or national action steps, policies, and program recommendations in the areas of:
-- youth involvement, prevention, school and community support structures, parents and families, school safety and security, and media roles and responsibility.

Final recommendations from the summit will be shared with local community interest groups and schools by the beginning of the school year. Policy recommendations will be presented to the governor and Bergeson for their consideration. All summit information will be forwarded to community forums so that local coordination efforts can continue.

The members of the Youth Safety Summit Advisory Group are:
Lewis Lee Andrews Jr., youth mobilization specialist, Safe Streets Campaign, Tacoma
Bill Bentley, superintendent, Stevenson-Carson School District, Stevenson
Janice Bogusz, legislative vice president, Northshore PTA Council, Kenmore
Sandra Brewer, president and chief investigator, Pinnacle Professional Services, Spokane
The Hon. Bobbe Bridge, judge, King County Superior Court, Seattle
Jimm Brown, community relations manager, KOMO television, Seattle
Don Brunell, president, Association of Washington Business, Olympia
Rev. Dr. Ellis Casson, senior pastor, First AME Church of Seattle, Seattle
Enrique Cerna, executive producer, KCTS television, Seattle
Ken Chovil, lead intervention specialist, Skagit County At-Risk Intervention specialist, Mount Vernon
Mike Dahl, student body president, Puyallup High School, Puyallup
Seth Dawson, executive director, Deaconess Children's Services, Everett
P.J. deBenedetti, director of communications, Moses Lake School District, Moses Lake
Adrienne DeCuire, student, Garfield High School, Seattle
Karen du Four des Champs, president, Inercor Company, Seattle
Pam Eakes, founder and president, Mothers Against Violence in America, Seattle
Daniel Erker, administrator, Juvenile Court Services, Pierce County Juvenile Court, Tacoma
Helen Fancher, Grant County commissioner and president of Washington State Association of Counties, Ephrata
Alice Fritz, parent, Moses Lake School District, Moses Lake
Doreen Garcia, parent, Olympia School District and former director of health policy Department of Health, Olympia
Barbara Greenberg, president, Yakima School District Board of Directors, Yakima
Tho Ha, student, Lake Sammamish High School, Bellevue
Karla Halbakken, community relations director, KING-TV, Seattle
Erin Hales, senior student representative, Washington State Board of Education, Olympia
Larry Hanson, president and publisher, The Everett Herald, Everett
Bill Hanson, president, Washington State Patrol Troopers Association, Olympia
Marc Harden, chief of police, City of Kennewick, Kennewick
J. David Hawkins, Ph.D., professor and director, Social Development Research Group, University of Washington, Seattle
Sergio Hernandez, director of academic support programs, Walla Walla Public Schools, Walla Walla
R. Joseph Hoptowit, superintendent, Mt. Adams School District, White Swan
Sarah Jenkins, editor, Yakima Herald-Republic, Yakima
Jon Lane, principal, Warden Middle School, Warden
Denise Lewis, senior program director, Rainier Vista Boys and Girls Clubs, Seattle
Priscilla Lisicich, executive director, Safe Streets Campaign, Pierce County, Tacoma
Norm Maleng, prosecuting attorney, King County Prosecuting Attorney's Office, Seattle
Dr. Dorothy Mann, founding director, Community Violence Prevention Program, University of Washington, Seattle
Pegi McEvoy, security staff, Seattle Public Schools, Seattle
Johnnie McKinley, instructional specialist, school safety trainer, Seattle Public Schools
Zachary Miller, ASB president, Kamiakin High School, Kennewick
Jerry Painter, general counsel, Washington Education Association, Federal Way
Mike Park, parent, Federal Way School District, Federal Way
David Perlman, director, Students Against Violence Everywhere, Seattle
Penny Peters, executive director human resources, Edmonds School District, Edmonds
Gilberto Placencia, student member, Yakima County Community Public Health and Safety Network, Union Gap
Margie Reeves, chair, Thurston County Community Health and Safety Network, Olympia
Merri Reiger, principal, Bremerton High School, Bremerton
Marilee Roloff, executive director, Volunteers of America of Spokane, Spokane
Jada Rupley, assistant superintendent, Educational Service District 112, Vancouver
September Sechrist, student, Olympia School District, Olympia
Scott Sines, managing editor for opinion and presentation, Spokane Spokesman-Review Spokane
Norm Stamper, Ph.D., chief of police, Seattle Police Department, Seattle
Norma Straw, board member and former Youth Engaged in Service Ambassador, Points of Light Foundation, Seattle
Emilie Sullivan, science teacher, Kellogg Middle School, Shoreline Public Schools, Shoreline
Randal Town, coordinator of intervention services, Educational Service District 105, Yakima
Dr. Eric Trupin, child psychologist and director of child and adolescent psychiatry, Children's Hospital and Medical Center, Seattle
Ronald Unke, director of security and safety, Highline Public School District, Burien
John Van Haalen, assistant principal, Mount Spokane High School, Mead School District, Mead
Jesus Villahermosa, deputy sheriff, Pierce County Sheriff Department, University Place
Dr. Gary Wolfer, pastor, Prosser United Methodist Church, Prosser

» Return to this month's News Releases
» View News Release Archive

Access Washington