News Releases
Office of Governor Gary Locke
Contact:  Governor's Communications Office, 360-902-4136

Locke makes appointments to boards and commissions

OLYMPIA — Gov. Gary Locke today announced appointments to college boards of trustees, the Higher Education Facilities Authority, the Community Economic Revitalization Board, the State Advisory Council on Homelessness and other boards and commissions.

College Board of Trustees

The board of trustees is the governing body of the college.

Jay Reich, of Seattle, was appointed to Central Washington University, Board of Trustees. Reich is an attorney whose work focuses on financing of affordable housing and higher education facilities. His term expires Sept. 30, 2000.

John D. Warner, of Seattle, was appointed to Western Washington University, Board of Trustees. Warner is senior vice president and chief administrative officer of The Boeing Company. His term expires Sept. 30, 2003.

Higher Education Facilities Authority

The authority authorizes the issuance of tax-exempt bonds and loans proceeds to private, non-profit institutions of higher education.

The Rev. Stephen V. Sundborg, S.J., of Seattle, is president of Seattle University. His term expires March 26, 2000.

Community Economic Revitalization Board

The board works to strengthen the economies of areas of the state that have experienced high unemployment rates or below-average economic growth.

Judith Boekholder, of Toppenish, is mayor of the City of Toppenish. Her term expires Sept. 2, 2001.

State Advisory Council on Homelessness

The council recommends ways to enhance the state's ability to respond to the needs of the homeless or those at risk of becoming homeless.

Ed Carlson, of North Bend, is an associate vice president of an investment company.

Melvin S. Jackson, of Seattle, is the executive director of a charitable organization.

Appointed to additional terms on the council are: David Boyd, of Lakewood, executive director of The King Center; Phoebe Nelson, of Yakima, executive director of the Yakima County Coalition for the Homeless; Alan Painter, of Mercer Island, director of community services for the City of Seattle; John Peters, of Seattle, director of community planning development for the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development; and Martha Dilts, of Seattle, community builder fellow at the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

All terms expire Jan. 4, 2003, expect Carlson, whose term expires Jan. 4, 2001, and Jackson, whose term expires Jan. 4, 2002.

Correctional Industries Board of Directors

The board establishes and implements policy for correctional industries programs within the Washington Department of Corrections designed to offer employment, work experience and training for inmates.

Tom Harris, of Kelso, is the business representative for the Sheet Metal Workers' International Association Local 66.

Appointed to additional terms on the board are: Anne Golden, of Walla Walla, a member of the Foundation Board of Governors at Walla Walla Community College; and Tony Rund, of Spokane, general counsel, vice president, and part owner of a business finance company.

All terms expire Sept. 25, 2001.

Boundary Review Boards

The boards have jurisdiction over municipal annexations, incorporations of cities under 7,500 estimated population, disincorporations and creation or annexation of certain special districts.

Beth Salaguinto, of Bothell, was appointed to the Snohomish County Boundary Review Board. Salaguinto is a former Microsoft employee. Her term expires on Jan. 31, 2003.

Victor Lara, of Yakima, was appointed to the Yakima County Boundary Review Board. Lara is an attorney and partner in a law practice. His term expires on Jan. 31, 2001.

Industrial Safety and Health Board

The board works to prevent industrial injuries and occupational diseases among employees in the state and promotes the efficient, safe, healthful, and productive operation of industry in the state.

Robert J. Hollenbeck, of Redmond, is the director of safety and health for the Boeing Company.

Rene LaRocque, of Olympia, is the safety program supervisor for the City of Tacoma.

John Parks, of East Wenatchee, is the business representative for the Teamsters Local 760.

All terms expire Dec. 31, 2000.

Council for the Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect

The council provides leadership and a statewide focus on the prevention of child abuse and neglect and encourages and supports effective community prevention efforts.

Nannette Nelson, of Vancouver, is a management analyst with the Vancouver Police Department. Her term expires June 30, 1999.
Board of Accountancy

The board regulates public accounting through examinations, licensing, complaint investigation and continuing professional education.

Elizabeth A. Luce, of Vancouver, is the former Clark County Auditor. Her term expires June 9, 2001.

Legal Foundation of Washington Board of Trustees

The foundation disburses the interest earned on lawyers' pooled trust accounts.

Appointed to an additional term on the board is John E. Clute, of Spokane, dean of the Gonzaga University School of Law. His term expires Dec. 31, 2000.

Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission

The commission determines eligibility of candidates for licensure examination or registration and establishes criteria, standards, and curricula for approved nursing schools.

Sandra Weeks, of Brinnon, is a nurse practitioner for a midwifery and family health care office. Her term expires June 30, 2002.

Health and Welfare Advisory Board

The board helps the state risk manager adopt rules governing operation and management of health and welfare benefits programs.

Anna Bullock, of Richland, is administrator of benefits and workers' compensation for the City of Richland. Her term expires Dec. 31, 2001.
Chiropractic Quality Assurance Commission

The commission examines and licenses chiropractors.

Betty First, of Spokane, is a retired counselor and family service consultant. Her term expires June 30, 2002.

» Return to this month's News Releases
» View News Release Archive

Access Washington