News Releases
Office of Governor Gary Locke
Contact:  Governor's Communications Office, 360-902-4136

Locke honors distinguished state managers

OLYMPIA - Gov. Gary Locke today announced recipients of the 2002 Governor's Distinguished Management Leadership Award.

"These men and women are succeeding in creating the innovative, entrepreneurial culture that best serves our customers. They are reshaping state government to meet expanding public expectations for service and efficiency," Locke said.

The 13 managers receiving Distinguished Manager Awards are being honored for their outstanding performance and results during the last year. The 12 being honored as Sustaining Leaders are being cited for their long-standing leadership in state government.

Distinguished Manager
  • Mike Bireley, Department of Fish & Wildlife, Walla Walla
  • Sandra Guilfoil, Department of Revenue, Olympia
  • Rachael Langen, Department of Social & Health Services, Olympia
  • Lynn McIntyre, Washington State Patrol, Seattle
  • Meta Morgan, Employment Security Department, Olympia
  • Denise Movius, Department of Licensing, Olympia
  • Reuel Paradis, Department of Labor & Industries, Yakima
  • Rick Phillips, Liquor Control Board, Olympia
  • Arlene Smith, Department of Labor & Industries, Olympia
  • Jo Vanucie, Employment Security Department, Aberdeen
  • Mia Waters, Department of Transportation, Seattle
  • Patrick White, Department of Social & Health Services, Olympia
  • David Workman, Department of Social & Health Services, Olympia

Sustaining Leader
  • Jim DeBlasio, Employment Security Department, Olympia
  • Elaine Emans, Office of the State Treasurer, Olympia
  • Anne Holdren, Department of Retirement Systems, Olympia
  • Nancy Kelly, Department of Licensing, Olympia
  • Bob MacKenzie, Department of General Administration, Olympia
  • Catherine McDonald, Department of Labor & Industries, Olympia
  • Larry Sanchez, Employment Security Department, Yakima
  • Susan Shoblom, Department of Health, Olympia
  • Asha Singh, Department of Social & Health Services, Seattle
  • Robert Stowe, Department of Transportation, Wenatchee
  • Cheryl Wolfe, Office of the Attorney General, Spokane
  • Cindi Yates, Department of Corrections, Olympia

» Return to this month's News Releases
» View News Release Archive

Access Washington