Lowry expands disaster county list to 37

OLYMPIA - Gov. Mike Lowry today expanded to 37 the number of counties in his emergency declaration for the state's severe winter weather and flooding in late December and early January. New counties added to the proclamation are Adams, Benton, Grant, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pend Oreille and Stevens.

The state has established a Storm Damage Hotline - 1-800-221-5947 - where the public can call for information on how to report damages from the winter weather emergency. Members of the public should report insured losses to their insurance agent. They may also call a consumer hotline staffed by the Office of the Insurance Commissioner - 1-800-562-6900 - with insurance questions and concerns.

Lowry initially proclaimed the state of emergency Sunday, Dec. 29 as a result of the severe winter weather conditions throughout much of the state. Of Washington's 39 counties, only two (Douglas and Franklin) have not been included in the emergency proclamation.

# # #

For information contact Rob Harper at the Emergency Management Division, 360-438-7737.