Lowry names members to state boards and commissions

OLYMPIA -- Gov. Mike Lowry today announced the following appointments to state boards and commissions:

Washington State Hispanic Affairs Commission

Arturo Biblarz of Tacoma has been named to the Hispanic Affairs Commission, an 11-member board responsible for assuring that state programs are providing assistance to the Hispanic community. Biblarz, a sociology professor at Pacific Lutheran University, replaces Carmen Masso, who resigned from the commission. Biblarz is chairman of the board of Centro Latino in Tacoma, which provides services to the local Latino community. He will serve through August 1998.

Jesse Briones of College Place has been named to the commission, replacing Ismael Caballero, who resigned. Briones teaches Spanish in the Walla Walla School District and is a minority representative for the Walla Walla Valley Education Association. He also teaches immigration and naturalization classes. Briones will serve through August 1998.

Peter G. Chacon of Kennewick was named to a vacant seat on the commission. Chacon is a former farmworker and retired founder and publisher of El Sol, a Spanish-language newspaper. He is president of the Tri Cities Hispanic Affairs Committee and a board member of the United Farm Workers of Washington. He will serve through August 1998.

Michelle Danley of Vancouver was also named to the commission, replacing Maria Madrigal-Ross, who resigned. Danley works for the Clark County Juvenile Court and is a member of the Clark County YWCA Board of Directors and the Retired Senior Volunteer Advisory Council. She will serve through August of 1999.

Tania Fernandez de Castro of Olympia will fill a vacant seat on the board. Fernandez de Castro works for the International Office at South Puget Sound Community College. She is a community representative for Espana Unidos, a non-profit community service organization, and was a Red Cross volunteer during the 1985 earthquake in Mexico City. She will serve through August 1999.

Washington State Building Code Council

Sue Alden of Seattle has been reappointed to a three-year term on the Building Code Council. The council is a 20-member board whose primary responsibility is to develop, adopt, and maintain the State Building Code, which comprises the minimum building construction regulations for the state. An architect with NBBJ, Alden was project architect for design of the Bagley Wright Theater at the Seattle Center. She is an active member of the American Institute of Architects and serves on the Seattle Fire Prevention Code Advisory Board.

Michael R. McEnaney of Veradale has been reappointed to the council. McEnaney is a business representative with the Spokane District Council of Carpenters. He will serve through January 1999.

Charles de Montigny of Kent has been reappointed to the council. An engineer and owner of de Montigny Engineers Inc., he has been an advocate of energy conservation in building design. He will serve through January 1999.

# # #

For more information, contact the Governor's Communications Office at 360-753-6790.