Lowry names members to state boards and commissions

OLYMPIA -- Gov. Mike Lowry today announced the following appointments to state boards and commissions.

State Board of Health

Dr. Edmund W. Gray of Colville has been named to the state Board of Health, replacing Merlin Sayers, who resigned. A 1953 University of Washington Medical School graduate, Gray is a family practice physician in the Colville area. He is a former president of the Washington State Medical Association and chairman of the Washington Basic Health Plan Advisory Committee, and has served on numerous other medical boards. Gray, an honorary lifetime member of the Spokane County Medical Society, last year received the Warren Featherstone Reid Award for Excellence in Health Care from Gov. Mike Lowry.

The state Board of Health is the nine-member panel responsible for state health policy development. The board issues a report every two years outlining the state's health priorities.

State Gambling Commission

Kathleen Q. Casey of Ferndale has been named to a vacancy on the state Gambling Commission. Casey is the executive director of Whatcom County Crisis Services in Bellingham and has worked as a therapist/supervisor for a substance abuse program, a mental health specialist, and executive director of Catholic Family Services. She serves as treasurer for the Washington State Council on Problem Gambling for the National Association of Social Workers.

The five-member state Gambling Commission is responsible for licensing, inspecting, investigating and auditing the organizations, businesses and individuals that participate in authorized gambling activities in the state.

Washington Public Power Supply System

Bob Royer of Seattle has been reappointed to a four-year term on the Washington Public Power Supply System Board of Directors. The head of Bob Royer Communications, Royer has a broad background in public affairs and public policy work. He is a former director of O'Neill & Company, Inc., where he managed public affairs accounts for electric utility and economic development clients, and has previously provided marketing and media consulting to environmental and utilities companies.

A former Seattle deputy mayor and television broadcast reporter, Royer is one of three members appointed by the governor to the 11-member board. The panel controls and manages WPPSS, which is authorized to operate and construct plants that generate and transmit electricity.

Affirmative Action Policy Committee

Pamela Bracy of Seattle was appointed to the Governor's Affirmative Action Policy Committee, replacing James Kelly, who resigned. Bracy is a tax service representative for the state Department of Revenue. She also serves as vice president of the Miller Community Center Advisory Board and is a volunteer with the Rainier Community Center.

The 15-member Affirmative Action Policy Committee serves as a policy and review body for the state's affirmative action program and reviews and approves state agency affirmative action plans.

Washington Council on Adult Education

Erin Mundinger of Omak was reappointed to the nine-member Washington Council on Adult Education. Mundinger is a manager in the job training unit of the state Employment Security Department and has also worked as a vocational counselor for the program.

The long-time community activist is co-owner of the Corner Shelf retail store in Omak. Mundinger is currently chairwoman of the Washington State Adult Education advisory council and has served on the Washington State Job Training Coordinating Council, the Family Independence Program State Advisory Committee, and the Washington State Council of Vocational Education.

The Washington Council on Adult Education advises the state Board for Community and Technical Colleges and the Workforce Training and Education Coordinating Board about issues related to basic education and literacy programs.

Real Estate Commission

Christa Sasser of Kennewick has been reappointed to the six-member Real Estate Commission. Sasser has been a licensed real estate broker with Distinctive Properties, Inc. since 1989 and has served numerous leadership positions on the Tri-City Association of Realtors. She has served on the board of directors for the Washington Association of Realtors and also is a community volunteer.

The Real Estate Commission examines and licenses real estate brokers and salespeople, holds educational conferences, and administers monthly examinations at 12 locations throughout the state.

State School for the Blind

Joseph Fram of Spokane has been named to the Board of Trustees of the State School for the Blind, replacing John Naddy whose term has expired. Fram retired from the state Department of Social and Health Services after 30 years of service, including 22 years as superintendent of Yakima Valley School. Fram has been active in Kiwanis, the Union Gospel Mission, Goodwill Industries and the Navy League.

The nine-member board of trustees serves the educational needs of visually impaired and blind students from throughout the state. The board also develops curricula to help students live, work, and be capable, contributing and independent citizens.

Washington Horse Park Authority

William Koss of Olympia has been named to fill a vacancy on the seven-member Washington Horse Park Authority. Koss is assistant manager for environmental programs for the state Parks and Recreation Commission. He has worked as an assistant director for the state Department of Fisheries' Salmon Program and has served both the state House of Representatives Natural Resources Committee and the state Department of Natural Resources.

The Washington Horse Park Authority was created by the 1995 Legislature to help develop, promote, operate, manage and maintain a Washington State Horse Park, which will be a publicly owned, year-round equestrian facility.

# # #

For more information, contact the Governor's Communications Office at 360-753-6790.