Governor recognizes outstanding law enforcement officers

OLYMPIA -- Gov. Mike Lowry will honor 19 law enforcement officers for extraordinary services and personal sacrifice in the line of duty.

Among those are seven officers who will be honored posthumously. The ceremony is scheduled for May 17 at 1 p.m. in the Capitol Rotunda.

In 1994 the state legislature established the Law Enforcement Medal of Honor, an award to honor any law enforcement officer who had been killed or seriously injured while in the performance of duty, or who has been distinguished by exceptionally meritorious conduct.

Officers were selected for the honor by a committee of representatives from the Washington State Law Enforcement Association, the Washington State Council of Police Chiefs, Washington State Association of Sheriffs and Police Chiefs, the Washington State Troopers Association, the Governor's Office and the Attorney General's Office.

Those being honored include:
Deputy John R. Bananola Pierce County Sheriff's Dept. posthumously
Deputy Dennis W. Bryant Benton County Sheriff's Dept. posthumously
Deputy James K. Kinard Snohomish County Sheriff's Dept. posthumously
Officer Jack Griffin Martin Lynden Police Dept. posthumously
Officer Antonio M. Terry Seattle Police Dept. posthumously
Trooper Ray L. Hawn Washington State Patrol posthumously
Trooper Steven Frink Washington State Patrol posthumously
Deputy Clifford P. Berry Spokane County Sheriff's Dept.
Trooper Rocky L. Miller Washington State Patrol
Trooper Ronald D. Tuggle Washington State Patrol
Deputy Jim Dresback Spokane County Sheriff's Dept.
Deputy Curt S. Quaschnick Spokane County Sheriff's Dept.
Deputy Ronald G. Shepard Yakima County Sheriff's Dept.
Deputy Randy Strzelecki Spokane County Sheriff's Dept
Officer Tramell F. (Mel) Taylor Spokane Police Dept.
Trooper Wayne Turner Washington State Patrol
Trooper Donald C. Bruya Washington State Patrol
Trooper Dale Retzlaff Washington State Patrol
Trooper Maurice M. Goodall Washington State Patrol

# # #

For more information, contact Barbara Dunn in the Governor's Communications Office at 360-753-6790.