Contact Information

  • Governor's Office, 360-902-4111

Governor Gregoire Appoints Cindy Zehnder as Chief of Staff

For Immediate Release: September 20, 2007

Gregoire cites Zehnder’s experience in the Executive Branch, the Legislature, labor, business and media

OLYMPIA – Governor Chris Gregoire today announced that Cindy Zehnder has accepted the position of Chief of Staff. Zehnder is currently President and CEO of TVW, Washington’s public affairs network. Tom Fitzsimmons announced his resignation earlier this week.

“Cindy’s breadth of experience in the Executive Branch, the Legislature, labor, business and media will serve Washingtonians well,” said Governor Gregoire. “Cindy is a long-time friend and she shares my love for this state, its citizens and for public service.”

In addition to her work at TVW, Zehnder has served as Chief Clerk for the Washington State House of Representatives, as Deputy Commissioner of the Washington Employment Security Department and held numerous positions with the Teamsters union. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in Anthropology and a Masters Degree in Educational Psychology, both from the University of Washington.

“There is only one person who could have convinced me to leave TVW and that is the Governor,” said Zehnder. “She is hard working, dedicated and at the same time, a person who cares deeply about people and families. I admire her straight-forward, practical approach to solving problems and her ability to bring people from all perspectives together around a common cause. I am excited about becoming a member of her team and the chance to work with such a gifted leader.”

Zehnder has also served on several boards and committees in the state, including: UW Board of Regents (Vice President and President); William D. Ruckelshaus Center (Advisory Board); WSU Tri-Cities (Advisory Committee); Evans School of Public Affairs; Washington News Council; UW-Tacoma (Advisory Board); United Way of Thurston County; Hutchinson Cancer Research Center (Board of Trustees); and Washington Health Care Commission (Executive Committee).

Her appointment is effective October 1.