Designation of Official State Districts for Use by State Agencies

WHEREAS, the division of the State of Washington into geographical areas or districts has been undertaken since as early as 1909; and

WHEREAS, at least 35 different district divisions are currently in use for purposes of service, administration, planning or data collection; and

WHEREAS, official designation of State geographic districts will provide uniform.and increased planning and program coordination among state agencies and provide guidelines for determination of the location of state government facilities to better meet public needs; and

WHEREAS, a consistent district approach is needed to meet the planning and coordination recommendations connected with the wide range of federal aid programs and to meet the objectives of the Bureau of the Budget, Executive Office of the President, for implementation of Section 204 of the Demonstration Cities and Metropolitan Development Act of 1966 and Section 201 and Title IV of the Intergovernmental Cooperation Act of 1968.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Daniel J. Evans, Governor of the State of Washington, by virtue of authority vested in me by law as set forth in RCW 43.06.010 and RCW 43.88.160 do hereby establish for the use by Washington State agencies except when otherwise designated by law the following official districts within the State:

District 1:   Clallam, Jefferson Counties
District 2:   Grays Harbor, Pacific Counties
District 3:   Whatcom, San Juan, Skagit, Island Counties
District 4:   Snohomish, King, Kitsap, Pierce Counties
District 5:   Mason, Thurston, Lewis Counties
District 6:   Cowlitz, Wahkiakum, Clark, Skamania, Klickitat Counties
District 7:   Okanogan, Chelan, Douglas Counties
District 8:   Kittitas, Yakima Counties
District 9:   Grant, Lincoln, Adams Counties
District 10:   Benton, Franklin Counties
District 11:   Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille Counties
District 12:   Spokane County
District 13:   Whitman, Walla Walla, Columbia, Garfield, Asotin Counties

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set
my hand and caused the seal of the State of
Washington to be affixed at Olympia this
6th day of August A.D., Nineteen hundred and sixty-eight.

Daniel J. Evans
Governor of Washington


Secretary of State